Overseas players, 2020, and 2021

The COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic put paid to much of the 2020 club cricket season in the UK, including here in the west of Scotland.  As such – and in common with nearly all other clubs – overseas players and/or coaches were not engaged, their entry to, and movements in, the country being severely restricted as a result of “lockdown” restrictions.  Restrictions also significantly curtailed club and community coaching opportunities, for both juniors and seniors, as the cancellation of domestic club league and cup cricket removed participation in matches.  COVID-19-related restrictions also prevented engaging overseas players in season 2021.

2019 Player/Coach – Lesiba Chris Ngoepe

Coming to the club for the first time in season 2019 is 26 year old South African Lesiba Chris Ngoepe (pictured above, and below).  Lesiba’s cricinfo bio’ shows his experience in both First Class and List A games with the Warriors franchise and Easterns.  A genuine all-rounder, Lesiba is a top-order left-hand batter and slow left-arm bowler.  2019 will be Lesiba’s third season in UK club cricket, his previous experiences including a season with Aberdeenshire CC where he scored over league 550 runs in the Eastern Premier Division, with a top score of 109*.  His slow left-arm orthodox bowling also saw him pick up 28 league wickets at under 19 to evidence his all-rounder credentials.

Known as Seebz, Lesiba is also a former South Africa Under 19 internationalist, playing twelve youth ODIs for the young Proteas.


Poloc Cricket Club’s Cricket Professionals and “Overseas Amateurs” Roll of Honour

Pictured below are a few of the club’s Professionals.  From top to bottom, and left to right, are pictured: Asif Hussain, Wes Thomas, Garry Hampson, Gavin Ewing, Sajid Ali, Iain Philip, Louis Devereux, Sadiq Mohammad, Ata-ur-Rehman, Omar Henry, Hanif Mohammad, Hancke von Rauenstein, Fraser Quarterman, Mohammad Ramzan, Carl Huyser, Malcolm Nofal, Norman Grimshaw, Niel Bredenkamp, Rajinder Amarnath, Gilbert Dawson, Reginald Halton, Gordon Brice, Jurie Snyman, David Nicoll and Lesiba Ngoepe.